Doug Liman Talks Leaving Gambit

In a recent interview with Collider, director Doug Liman talked about his reasons for leaving the X-Men film Gambit. Liman, who is currently promoting his newest film The Wall, said:

“I never formed a connection. Many of these movies, I don’t have the connection on day one, but I find the connection. I just never found it. I don’t always find a connection. I want to make a movie that, if anybody else made it, it would be different.”

Liman continued to describe that his version of Swingers portrayed Vince Vaughn’s character Trent as a likable character and that someone else making that film perhaps wouldn’t have made it the same way. This served as the primary reason for Liman’s departure from the project.

I would rather see Doug Liman’s take on Justice League Dark to his take on Gambit, but this stems from a personal confusion as to the appeal of Gambit. I just don’t see Gambit getting his own film and I agree that it will take someone who has a real love for the character to bring that to the screen.

Thankfully, Liman has plenty of interesting projects on the way like the sequel to Edge of Tomorrow and the aforementioned Justice League Dark, and I’m excited to see The Wall.

What do you think? Who should helm Gambit? Let me know/Drop a comment below!

 

-Kyle A. Goethe

Leave a Reply

